Living REIT corrects share count after senior living acquisition update
Living REIT has corrected a 1,000-share error in its acquisition update, confirming 460,458,619 total voting rights.
This article covers information on Living REIT PLC.
LON:LIVEWhat has Living REIT corrected?
Living REIT has corrected two figures in its update on the strategic acquisition of a senior living portfolio.
The number of Additional Consideration Shares issued should have been 888,896, rather than the 889,896 previously stated. As a result, the correct total number of voting rights following admission of those shares is 460,458,619, excluding treasury shares.
The previously published voting rights figure was 460,459,619. Both errors were therefore overstated by 1,000 shares.
| Key figure | Previously stated | Correct figure |
|---|---|---|
| Additional Consideration Shares | 889,896 | 888,896 |
| Total voting rights | 460,459,619 | 460,458,619 |
| Difference | 1,000 | 1,000 |
The company said these were the only amendments to the announcement originally released on 6 August 2026. Investors can read the original company announcement for the full corrected wording.
Why the voting rights figure matters
At first glance, a 1,000-share correction in a company with more than 460 million voting rights is small. Economically, it does not materially alter the acquisition update.
However, an accurate total voting rights figure is still important because shareholders use it as the denominator when calculating their percentage ownership.
Under the Financial Conduct Authority's Disclosure and Transparency Rules, investors may need to notify the market when their ownership passes certain thresholds. Living REIT confirmed that shareholders should use 460,458,619 for these calculations.
The correction is therefore mainly administrative, but it fixes a number that has a specific regulatory purpose.
The acquisition consideration has now been finalised
Living REIT completed the acquisition on 16 July 2026. The purchase consideration included a mixture of cash and newly issued shares.
Part of the amount paid at completion was based on an estimate of the acquired group's net asset value, with £1 million deferred until the completion accounts were finalised.
Completion accounts are the post-deal calculations used to confirm financial measures such as the assets and liabilities transferred with an acquired business.
The final process found that the target group's actual net asset value at completion was £162,393 lower than estimated. The deferred consideration was consequently reduced from £1 million to £837,607.
| Acquisition update | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initially deferred purchase price | £1 million |
| Reduction following completion accounts | £162,393 |
| Final deferred consideration | £837,607 |
| Shares issued to satisfy it | 888,896 |
This adjustment provides investors with greater certainty over the final consideration. It also means Living REIT is paying £162,393 less than the maximum amount initially deferred.
What the new shares mean for investors
Living REIT issued the 888,896 shares to satisfy the £837,607 deferred consideration. The shares were admitted to the closed-ended funds segment of the Official List and to trading on the London Stock Exchange's Main Market at 8am on 7 August 2026.
They rank pari passu with the existing ordinary shares. This means they carry the same rights as the shares already in issue, including rights to dividends, distributions and returns of capital where the relevant record date falls after admission.
The additional shares represent approximately 0.19% of the post-admission voting rights. That is modest dilution for existing shareholders, although it remains dilution nonetheless because future returns and voting power are spread across a slightly larger number of shares.
The other side of the equation is that issuing shares satisfies the deferred consideration without requiring Living REIT to make that £837,607 payment in cash. For a property investment company, retaining cash can provide additional balance-sheet flexibility, although the announcement does not say how the retained cash will be used.
Does the correction change the investment case?
On its own, probably not in a meaningful way.
The central economic facts remain unchanged. Living REIT completed the acquisition, the target group's final net asset value was £162,393 below the estimate, and the resulting deferred consideration was fixed at £837,607.
The corrected share count is 1,000 lower than previously reported. Against total voting rights of 460,458,619, that difference is extremely small.
There are still positives for investors:
- The completion accounts process has concluded.
- Final deferred consideration is £162,393 below the original £1 million amount.
- The corrected figures remove uncertainty over the company's issued voting rights.
- Share-based consideration avoids an equivalent cash payment.
There are also points to keep in mind:
- Existing shareholders have experienced modest dilution from the 888,896 new shares.
- The target group's net asset value was below the completion estimate.
- This announcement does not disclose the portfolio's rental income, acquisition yield, operating performance or expected contribution to dividends.
- No updated financial guidance is provided.
Those missing details matter more to the longer-term investment case than the 1,000-share correction itself.
For a broader example of how an acquisition can reshape the story around a listed company, readers may also be interested in Tooru PLC's strategic progress following an acquisition.
Living REIT's senior living strategy
Living REIT is a UK-listed real estate investment trust, or REIT. It aims to provide stable, long-term and inflation-aligned income by investing in residential property sectors supported by structural demand.
Its areas of focus include specialised supported housing, senior living and care homes. These assets provide social infrastructure for residents and communities while the company seeks to generate income and total returns for shareholders.
The senior living portfolio acquisition therefore fits the stated investment strategy. However, the corrected announcement does not disclose enough operational information to judge how strongly the acquired assets are performing or how quickly they may contribute to shareholder returns.
Future reporting will need to show the portfolio's income generation, occupancy, costs and effect on Living REIT's net asset value and dividends.
A small correction with regulatory importance
Living REIT's correction is narrow and does not signal a change to the acquisition itself. The company issued 888,896 shares, not 889,896, and its correct total voting rights are 460,458,619.
For most investors, the practical financial difference is negligible. For shareholders calculating disclosure obligations, however, using the correct denominator is essential.
The more important issue from here is whether the completed senior living acquisition delivers the stable, inflation-aligned income that Living REIT is targeting. This announcement finalises the consideration, but evidence of the portfolio's operating contribution is not disclosed.
Related
Keep reading
Investing
Macau Property Opportunities Fund NAV Slumps as Debt Default Raises Disposal Risk
MPO's adjusted NAV halved as pledged cash, a Penha Heights loan default and lender pressure raised the stakes for its disposal plan.
JoshuaSeptember 25, 2026
Investing
Robinson PLC Keeps 2026 Guidance but Lost Contract Clouds 2027 Outlook
Robinson PLC says 2026 trading remains on track, although a contract loss will remove £3.3 million of annual revenue from 2027.
JoshuaSeptember 25, 2026
Investing
CVS Group final results 2026: earnings rise as buybacks and acquisitions continue
CVS Group delivered higher revenue and adjusted earnings, raised its dividend and outlined further acquisition opportunities in the UK and Australia.
JoshuaSeptember 24, 2026
Tagged
Last updated
Category
InvestingLikes
Star Rating
No ratings yet
Comments
No comments yet - start the conversation.