Seed Capital flags going-concern risk after 4DM deal falls through
Seed Capital needs to complete a fundraising and creditor settlement after reporting £10,900 of cash and a material going-concern uncertainty.
This article covers information on Seed Capital Solutions PLC.
LON:SCSPSeed Capital Solutions PLC has published a second interim report that is less about trading performance and more about financial survival.
The listed shell company ended 30 June 2026 with just £10,900 in cash, current liabilities of £511,900 and negative shareholders' funds of £490,700. Its directors have also acknowledged a material uncertainty that may cast significant doubt on the company's ability to continue as a going concern.
That wording matters. Seed Capital's immediate future depends heavily on completing a proposed equity fundraising, settling professional creditors and persuading the Financial Conduct Authority to lift the temporary suspension of its shares.
Seed Capital's key figures
The six-month loss was relatively modest compared with the preceding period, but the balance sheet remains under severe pressure.
| Key figure | 30 June 2026 | 31 December 2025 | 30 June 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash | £10,900 | £14,700 | £211,400 |
| Total assets | £21,200 | £102,100 | £343,800 |
| Current liabilities | £511,900 | £500,200 | £217,900 |
| Shareholders' funds | -£490,700 | -£398,100 | £125,900 |
Seed Capital made a net loss of £92,600 during the six months to 30 June 2026. Across the cumulative 12-month period from 1 July 2025, the loss was £616,600.
The latest six-month loss consisted almost entirely of administrative expenses, which totalled £92,700, offset by other operating income of just £100.
Cash declined by £3,800 during the latest six months. This limited movement partly reflected a £77,100 reduction in receivables and an £11,700 increase in payables, rather than the emergence of an income-generating business.
Why the going-concern warning matters
A company is considered a going concern when its accounts are prepared on the assumption that it can continue operating and meet its obligations for the foreseeable future.
Seed Capital's directors have retained that assumption, but they explicitly identify closing the equity fundraising as the principal risk to it. Their cash-flow projections are sensitive to both the timing and outcome of anticipated funding.
The board says it remains confident that the funding plans can be executed. However, the fundraising's size, price, timing and investor commitments were not disclosed in this announcement.
That leaves shareholders with a significant gap between the stated plan and its completion. With £10,900 in cash and £511,900 of current liabilities at the reporting date, the margin for delay appears extremely limited.
Investors can read the figures and accompanying accounting notes in the original company announcement.
The failed 4DM acquisition changed the plan
Seed Capital was previously working to acquire Spanish artificial intelligence business Cuarta Dimension Medica SL, known as 4DM.
Because Seed Capital was a foreign investor and 4DM operated in a strategic sector, the transaction required prior authorisation from Spain's Ministry of Economy, Trade and Business. Seed Capital was subsequently informed that authorisation would not be forthcoming, and discussions were terminated in July 2026.
The company had incorporated a subsidiary, 4Dimension AI Limited, in May as part of the proposed transaction. That subsidiary remains dormant.
The termination removed the transaction that had been expected to give the shell company an operating direction. Seed Capital must now recapitalise and search again for a suitable acquisition or investment opportunity.
For context, the earlier transaction plans are covered in this article on Seed Capital's proposed AI diagnostics acquisition and planned move to AIM.
Fundraising and creditor settlement are the next hurdles
Following the termination, shareholders approved the authorities needed to issue new shares and disapply statutory pre-emption rights. Disapplying these rights allows the company to issue shares without first offering them proportionately to existing shareholders.
Seed Capital intends to use the proposed fundraising to:
- meet ongoing obligations;
- complete a creditor settlement;
- provide initial capital for future acquisition and investment opportunities.
The company has agreed to settle up to £125,000 owed to professional creditors by issuing new ordinary shares, alongside a further £50,000 cash payment.
Using shares preserves some cash, which is understandable given the current balance. The trade-off is potential dilution for existing investors. The number of settlement shares, issue price and resulting dilution were not disclosed.
The same concern applies to the wider fundraising. New equity is needed to support the company, but its effect on current shareholders cannot be assessed until the terms are announced.
Seed Capital had 185,406,000 ordinary shares in issue at 30 June, along with 25,313,532 outstanding warrants carrying a weighted average exercise price of 1.041p.
Suspension will not lift automatically
Seed Capital says it will ask the FCA to lift the temporary suspension of its listing after completing both the fundraising and creditor settlement.
That wording is important. The company intends to make a request, but the announcement does not state that reinstatement is guaranteed or provide a timetable.
Until the suspension is lifted, shareholders cannot trade the shares through the market in the usual way. This removes day-to-day liquidity and makes the funding process, creditor settlement and regulatory outcome particularly significant.
Seed Capital remains listed in the Equity shares (shell companies) category under the UK Listing Rules. Its purpose is to acquire businesses with strong environmental, social and governance credentials, but it currently has no active acquired operating business.
More company-specific updates are available on the Seed Capital Solutions PLC share page.
What investors need to watch now
There are some constructive points. The latest six-month loss was lower than the £287,400 loss reported for the six months to 30 June 2025, shareholders have granted the necessary share-issue authorities, and a defined creditor settlement has been agreed.
However, these are preparatory steps rather than completed solutions. The balance sheet moved from positive shareholders' funds of £125,900 in June 2025 to a deficit of £490,700 one year later. The fundraising remains incomplete, its terms are not disclosed, and the company must restart its search for a transaction after the 4DM acquisition failed.
The next meaningful update should therefore contain firm funding terms rather than another statement of intent. Investors will need to assess how much capital is raised, the issue price, the dilution created by the fundraising and creditor shares, whether the cash settlement is completed, and whether the FCA subsequently agrees to lift the suspension.
For now, Seed Capital is a suspended shell company with very limited cash, negative equity and a material going-concern uncertainty. Completing the proposed recapitalisation is the central test.
Related
Keep reading
Investing
Porvair nudges 2026 outlook higher as acquisitions support growth
Porvair has nudged its full-year outlook higher, with organic growth, resilient niche markets and recent acquisitions supporting progress.
JoshuaSeptember 22, 2026
Investing
Midwich revenue rises as profit growth, dividend increase and unchanged outlook offset regional pressures
Midwich grew first-half revenue by 3.2%, lifted adjusted profit before tax by 10.3% and maintained its full-year profit expectations.
JoshuaSeptember 22, 2026
Investing
B90 Holdings revenue rises 38% as cash generation strengthens in H1 2026
B90 Holdings grew H1 revenue by 38% and generated €0.50 million from operations, although adjusted EBITDA was broadly flat.
JoshuaSeptember 21, 2026
Last updated
Category
InvestingLikes
Star Rating
No ratings yet
Comments
No comments yet - start the conversation.