Supermarket Income REIT deploys £100m raise with six-asset acquisition spree
Supermarket Income REIT has acquired six grocery assets for £104 million, completing deployment of its £100 million July equity raise.
This article covers information on Supermarket Income REIT PLC.
LON:SUPRSupermarket Income REIT has added six grocery properties for £104 million, completing the deployment of the proceeds from its £100 million equity raise in July 2026.
Combined with the previously announced £118 million purchase of three supermarkets, the latest transactions represent a sizeable expansion for the FTSE 250 real estate investment trust, or REIT.
The key numbers look reasonably attractive on the face of it. Across the acquisitions funded following the equity raise, Supermarket Income REIT has achieved an average net initial yield of 6.6% and a weighted average unexpired lease term, or WAULT, of 10 years.
The original company announcement also shows the portfolio becoming more varied, with assets ranging from large omnichannel supermarkets to a grocery distribution centre and smaller grocery-anchored properties.
Supermarket Income REIT acquisition highlights
| Metric | Detail |
|---|---|
| Latest assets | Six |
| Latest transaction value | £104 million |
| Previously announced portfolio | Three supermarkets for £118 million |
| July 2026 equity raise | £100 million |
| Average net initial yield | 6.6% |
| Combined WAULT | 10 years |
| Existing portfolio value | £2.1 billion at 31 December 2025 |
Net initial yield measures the annual rental income from a property as a percentage of its purchase price, after allowing for transaction costs. A 6.6% yield therefore gives investors an indication of the initial income return generated by the acquired assets before financing and other company-level costs.
WAULT measures the average time remaining before leases expire or tenants can break them. The 10-year figure offers a meaningful degree of rental income visibility, although the individual properties vary considerably.
What has Supermarket Income REIT acquired?
The largest conventional foodstores in the package are a 74,000 sq. ft. Sainsbury's supermarket in Macclesfield and an 80,000 sq. ft. Morrisons supermarket in Leeds.
Both have 13 years remaining on their leases and include Click & Collect facilities and home delivery vans. That supports the company's focus on omnichannel properties capable of serving both online and in-store customers.
| Asset | Size | Lease term or WAULT | Rent per sq. ft. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sainsbury's, Macclesfield | 74,000 sq. ft. | 13 years | £37 |
| Morrisons, Leeds | 80,000 sq. ft. | 13 years | £21 |
| M&S-anchored retail park, Nottinghamshire | 50,000 sq. ft. | Five-year WAULT | £18 |
| Co-op, Birmingham | 4,000 sq. ft. | Eight years | £20 |
| M&S, Glasgow | 10,000 sq. ft. | Six years | £20 |
| Sainsbury's distribution centre, Avonmouth | 67,000 sq. ft. | 14 years | Not disclosed |
The Nottinghamshire retail park is fully let and includes B&Q, Costa, Greggs and Mountain Warehouse alongside M&S. It brings broader retailer exposure, although its five-year WAULT is notably shorter than those of the major supermarket assets.
The Birmingham Co-op adds a smaller convenience-format foodstore, while the Glasgow scheme is anchored by M&S.
Finally, the Avonmouth distribution centre introduces grocery logistics exposure. It is let to Sainsbury's for another 14 years and has open-market rent reviews every five years. The company believes those reviews offer potential to capture rental reversion, meaning an opportunity to move the rent closer to the prevailing market level.
The footnotes clarify that the Glasgow and Avonmouth assets are properties where contracts have been exchanged. Investors should therefore note that these two transactions had not necessarily completed when the announcement was published.
Why the 6.6% acquisition yield matters
For shareholders, the relationship between the acquisition yield and the company's overall cost of funding will be important.
A 6.6% average net initial yield provides a visible starting income return from the new properties. However, the announcement does not disclose the expected effect on earnings per share, net asset value or dividend cover. It also does not provide a detailed breakdown of debt funding or other financing used alongside the equity proceeds.
That makes this primarily a portfolio deployment update rather than fresh financial guidance.
Still, deploying the equity raise within two months limits the period during which newly raised cash sits idle and earns little for shareholders. Management has moved quickly from fundraising to securing income-producing assets, which is generally preferable to an extended wait for suitable deals.
For context, investors can also read about the earlier £118 million acquisition of three supermarkets and visit the main Supermarket Income REIT company page.
The positives for SUPR shareholders
The clearest positive is execution. The company raised £100 million in July and says the proceeds are now fully deployed into a pipeline carrying a 6.6% average net initial yield.
Lease visibility is another attraction. The combined 10-year WAULT is supported by 13-year leases at the Macclesfield and Leeds supermarkets and a 14-year lease at the Avonmouth distribution centre.
Most of the properties use triple-net leases. Under this structure, the tenant typically takes responsibility for property costs such as maintenance, insurance and taxes. That can reduce the landlord's exposure to unexpected operating expenditure.
There is also some inflation protection. The Sainsbury's, Morrisons and Co-op properties have Retail Prices Index-linked rent reviews, although the timing, caps and floors differ. This means rent growth is linked to inflation within agreed limits rather than being completely open-ended.
Finally, the acquisitions broaden the portfolio beyond large supermarkets. Convenience retail, grocery-anchored retail parks and distribution assets could make the income base less dependent on one type of grocery property.
Risks and unanswered questions
The announcement does not change Supermarket Income REIT's dividend, earnings or trading guidance. Investors therefore cannot assume the purchases will automatically produce a particular level of per-share growth.
Lease quality also varies. The Nottinghamshire retail park has a five-year WAULT, while the Glasgow M&S scheme has six years remaining. These are shorter commitments than those attached to the main supermarkets and distribution centre.
Rent review structures are mixed too. Some are linked to RPI inflation, while others use open-market reviews. Open-market reviews may capture higher rental values, but increases are not guaranteed by an inflation formula.
There is also a point to watch around completion. The company's footnote identifies Glasgow and Avonmouth as assets where contracts have been exchanged, so investors may want confirmation that both transactions complete as planned.
A meaningful step in SUPR's diversification strategy
This is a material deployment update rather than a new trading forecast. Supermarket Income REIT has moved quickly to invest its July equity proceeds, adding assets with a combined average acquisition yield of 6.6% and 10 years of lease visibility.
The transaction also advances management's effort to diversify beyond core supermarkets without moving far from grocery-related property. The portfolio now gains additional exposure to convenience retail, grocery-anchored schemes and distribution infrastructure.
The next question is how effectively the new assets translate into rental growth, dividend cover and per-share returns. Those outcomes were not disclosed in this announcement, but they will ultimately determine whether the acquisition spree creates lasting value for shareholders.
Related
Keep reading
Investing
Kore Potash H1 2026: sale process stays live as Kola funding work continues
Kore Potash ended June with two parties in its sale process, while Kola financing remained dependent on an operator and strategic partner.
JoshuaSeptember 11, 2026
Investing
Atlantic Lithium annual report flags Huayou takeover progress and Ewoyaa lease milestone
Atlantic Lithium has advanced Huayou's proposed cash takeover while securing funding access and ratifying the Ewoyaa mining lease.
JoshuaSeptember 11, 2026
Investing
M.P. Evans expands Kota Bangun with US$2 million land deal and plans for 3,000-plus hectares
M.P. Evans has acquired planted and plantable land near Kota Bangun, supporting long-term production growth and better use of existing mills.
JoshuaSeptember 10, 2026
Last updated
Category
InvestingLikes
Star Rating
No ratings yet
Comments
No comments yet - start the conversation.